About Paxtons Head
The Paxtons Head is located alongside the south end of Hyde Park, on the main road towards Kensington. It is a superb example of Victorian architecture, and still boasts original oak panels, etched mirrors and extensive glass work. It is thought to be built around 1632 and became the Paxtons head in 1850s, referencing Joseph Paxton who designed the original Crystal Palace. During the development of the palace the workmen were housed in the pub. The pub's beautiful exterior and its traditional charm make this grade II listed building iconic amongst London pubs.In fact, the interior is so special it has been listed by CAMRA as being of Special Historic Interest. The mirrors feature birds and flowers as well as traditional grotesque heads. To add to this the ceiling is painted with frescoes, there is a marble fireplace and an original island server complementing the mahogany décor making it a truly great example of a traditional London pub. There has been an inn on the site of the current Paxton’s Head since 1632 when it was known as the King’s Arms on the village green in what was the tiny hamlet of Knightsbridge. It was also called the Golden Lion, the Red Lion and the Sun and when the area had grown into an area of renowned entertainment the pub was known as the Marquis of Granby. After the 1851 Great Exhibition in Hyde Park the pub was rebuilt and renamed the Paxton’s Head after Joseph Paxton the architect and gardener responsible for the Crystal Palace glass and iron structure where the exhibition was held.The Paxton’s Head is close to Harrods world famous department store and Hyde Park, one of London’s best royal parks. It is surrounded by many other luxury brand shops, large houses and spectacular embassy buildings. It offers a warm welcome to all and has a great range of drinks including a large range of cask ales and traditional pub food. Knightsbridge underground station is less than 100 metres making it an ideal venue for any occasion.