About Lord Raglan
The Lord Raglan pub is one of the oldest sites in the city. Rebuilt after the Great Fire of London, it was originally known as ‘The Mourning Bush’ but later changed to Lord Raglan. This magnificent pub still retains much of its original features, including the remained of an old Roman Wall in the cellar. Today, we serve Great British pub food classics, including iconic dishes like our hand-battered fish and chips, pie and mash and succulent burgers. Our drinks include a great range of real ales and an extensive wine list. The Lord Raglan was named to commemorate Fitzroy Somerset, the Lord Raglan. Field Marshal FitzRoy James Henry Somerset was the First Baron Raglan from 1788 to 1855, known before 1852 as Lord FitzRoy Somerset. He Served in the Peninsula War and was military secretary to the Duke of Wellington. In 1854, he was commander in chief of the British troops in the Crimean. Despite his many accolades, Lord Raglan was often regarded as ineffective in that role. In the battle of Waterloo, Lord Raglan lost his right arm, thus coining the term Raglan sleeve.